Saturday, 4 August 2012

Know your County MPS:Usin Gishu County

By Musa Momanyi

 Uasin Gishu County is located in the Rift Valley province and has 3  constituencies which are Eldoret North, Eldoret East and Eldoret South.

Uasin Gishu county has favourable climate for farming of maize and passion fruits.

1.Eldoret North
 William Ruto
William Samoei Ruto is the Member of Parliament for Eldoret North and  was born  on 21 December 1966 in Kamagut area of Uasin Gishu  to the late Mzee Daniel Cheruiyot and Mama Sarah Che ruiyot. He attended Kerotet Primary School for his primary school education then joined Wareng Secondary School for his Ordinary Levels education before proceeding to Kapsabet Boys, Nandi for his Advanced Levels. He then went on to receive a BSc(Botany and Zoology) from University of Nairobi where he graduated  in 1990.

Ruto is a former Cabinet Minister in the Republic of Kenya and has excelled in all the Ministries he has held and same applies to his Constituency where Eldoret town falls in.

 Margaret Kamar:Eldoret East

 2.Eldoret East
Margaret Jepkoech Kamar the current Minister for Higher Education is the Member of Parliament for Eldoret east.She was born on  April 28,1959 and she is described as an average performer in terms of development in her constituency.

Kamar who was elected on an Orange Democratic Movement party is a polite leader who avoids controversies at all cost .

Happy Peris Sim
3.Eldoret South
A former teacher Simam  Peris Chepchumba is the Member of Parliament  for Eldoret South.

She holds a Bachelor of  Education in Science education from Kenyatta University and a Diploma in Science Education from Moi Teachers College.Her development record in the constituency is not very impressive as it has been dogged by corruption allegations forcing the countrys  Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission sleuths to  launch a probe on it .

On Sunday we focus on MPS in Vihiga County.

No comments:

Post a Comment