Tuesday, 21 August 2012

Airtel Kenya sponsor Obuya youth Cricket tournament

By Fred Maingi in Nairobi
Airtel Kenya has extended their generous hand by sponsoring the  2012
Obuya Youth Cricket tournament  that get’s underway from August 21st
to August 25th, 2012.
irtel Kenya managing director Mr. Shivan Bhargava reiterated his
company’s commitment to the promotion of sports in Kenya.He said “We
are committed to supporting the development of sports in the country
and we will be supporting more sporting initiatives aimed at nurturing
talent among the youth in Kenya.”

Mr. Bhargava added that his Company is delighted to have the
opportunity to offer cricket fans the opportunity to enjoy their
favorite sport while accessing exclusive Airtel customer service and
sales points at the games venues. The games will be played at
Jaffrey’s, Simba Union Club, Premier Club, Ruaraka and Sir Ali Muslims

Speaking about the sponsorship, the Chairman of the Obuya tournament
Kennedy Obuya expressed his delight at the offer from Airtel appealing
to more organizations to join in the promotion of the event to cater
for more teams and better quality of the games in the future.
Mr. Obuya said the tournament which has been divided into three age
group categories under 11, 13 and 17 will once again be played in a
round robin basis featuring 20/20 over’s each and will also be
officiated by internationally qualified umpires with the International
Cricket Council rules and regulations strictly being adhered to.
The tournament was started in 2005 with the three Obuya
brothers Kennedy, David and Collins who are all members of the
national cricket team after Kenya’s historic semi final place in the
Cricket World cup in South Africa.  Simba Union club won the under 17
title last year after beating Obuya Academy 11 side in the finals.
Uganda’s select side are the defending champions of the under 13
category after beating Samaj school in the finals. The under 11 side
was last year won by Obuya Academy side. 30 teams
The tournament is expected to attract 30 teams which will be drawn
from Nairobi, Kisumu, Nakuru and Uganda.

No comments:

Post a Comment