Saturday, 18 August 2012

Uganda says it`s ready to host Cecafa Challenge cup


By Fred Maingi in Nairobi

FUFA V-P:Magogo
ALL  is  set  for  the 2012 Cecafa Challenge Cup  after Uganda
confirmed their readiness to host the 2012 Cecafa Challenge Cup by
appointing a 10-man local organising committee.

The Federation of Uganda Football Associations [Fufa] Vice-President,
Moses Magogo, chairs the committee and the association’s chief
executive officer, the former Uganda Cranes international star, Edgar
Watson, will be the secretary.

In a Press statement from Fufa’s communication department, Watson said
they had finalised all the consultations and a confirmation letter
already sent to the regional secretariat in Nairobi.

“The Cecafa [Council of East and Central Football Associations]
Challenge Cup which has for the last two years been hosted by
Tanzanian Football Federation (TFF) will now come to Kampala in late
November to mid December,” the statement said. The tournament is
sponsored by the East African Breweries Limited (EABL) through the
Tusker brand.

Members of the Cecafa Challenge Cup Local Organising Committee are:
Chairman – Eng Moses Magogo [Fufa Vice-President in charge of
administration], Deputy chairman - Patrick Ogwel [Fufa V-P in charge
of youth football], Secretary - Edgar Watson [Fufa Chief Executive
Officer], Mujib Kasule [Fufa V-P in charge of Uganda Super League],
Livingstone Kyambadde (Fufa V-P, in charge of technical affairs],
Anthony Kimuli [Fufa V-P in charge of finance], Rogers Mulindwa [Fufa
Communication Manager], Sam Lwere [Security], Rogers Byamukama and Sam
Mpiima [Marketing and sponsorship].

As part of its first assignment, the 2012 Cecafa Challenge Cup Local
Organising Committee was expected to meet with the Uganda Minister of
state for Sports, Charles Bakabulindi, to discuss the detailed program
of the three week event.

Uganda last hosted the Challenge Cup in 2008 and defeated a Francis
Kimanzi- coached Kenya 1-0 in the final at the Nelson Mandela Stadium
in Namboole.

The Uganda Cranes won the title last year by beating Rwanda 2-1 in the
final in Dar es Salaam.

No comments:

Post a Comment