Wednesday, 29 August 2012

Somali Speaker elected

Somali Speaker Prof.Osman

 Interim Chairman of both the new Parliament and Parliamentary Election Committee has officially announced that Prof Mohamed Osman Jawari is the elected Speaker of the new Federal Parliament of Somalia following the withdrawal of Prof Ali Khalif Galleyr from the participation of the final voting. 
The Chairman said that in the first round of the three planned rounds, Prof Mohamed Sh Osman Jawari got 119 votes short of 20 votes for outright victory. The other four candidates were Dr. Ali Khalif Galleyr who got 77 votes, Mr. Abdi Hashi Abdullahi got 23 votes, Mr. Abdirashid Mohamed Hiddig got 10 votes and finally Mr. Hassan Abshir Farah got 5 votes.

No comments:

Post a Comment