Monday, 30 July 2012

Know your County MPS:Taita Taveta County

By  Lucy Mwavizo
Taita Taveta County is located in Coast province and has 4 constituencies namely Taveta, Wundanyi, Mwatate and Voi.Tsavo East and West National Parks are found within the County and Sisal farming is also practiced in the County.
Dr.Naomi Shabaan

Dr.Naomi Namsi Shaban who is also the Minister for Gender and Children is the Member of Parliament for Taveta on a former ruling party KANU which has disintegrated and its former leader Uhuru Kenyatta (son of the late President Kibaki) formed a new party called The National Alliance Party (TNA) while the son of former President Daniel Arap Moi (Gideon Moi) remained with the party.

Dr.Shaaban is considered a hardworking legislator in her constituency and also active in Parliamentary debates.

Mwadeghu of Wundanyi
Wundanyi Constituency is represented in the Kenyan National Assembly by Thomas Luhindi Mwadeghu who was born in 1953 and he is a quiet man who shies away from National politics though involved actively in his constituency. Even in his Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) he only attends party meetings but makes minimal contributions according to party sources who attend meetings but not authorized to speak to media.

On Tuesday we look at MPS in Mwatate and Voi Constituencies

No comments:

Post a Comment