Tuesday, 17 July 2012

Know your County MPS:Nandi County

Know your County MPS:Nandi County
By Lilian Jebii
Nandi County is located in Rift Valley and constitutes 4 constituencies (Mosop, Aldai, Emgwen and Tinderet). Nandi North, Nandi East, Nandi South, Nandi Central and Tinderet districts were mapped to this county for the purposes of generating county estimates.
The area is good for farming and rearing of dairy cows. Tea is also planted in the area and it is inhabited by Nandi`s and Luyia`s from Tiriki sub-tribe though some Luyias from Maragoli and other sub-tribes have found their way there through purchase of land.

David Koech
Mosop Constituency is represented in Parliament by the Chairman of the Parliamentary Educational Committee Mr. David Kibet Koech who was born on November 24,1963 and has frequently spoken in Parliament. His ratings in the Constituency are good.

Dr.Sally Jemngetich Kosgei, the Minister for Agriculture is the MP for Aldai. And once a Diplomat and head of the Civil Service during the tenure of retired President Daniel Arap Moi.She was born in 1949 and has a good education background though people in her constituency rate her work in the constituency as not very impressive and not being reachable easily.
Dr.Sally Kosgei
She is good in her Ministry work but she is not known to speak regularly in parliament and was a member of a group of MPS from Party of National Unity and Orange Democratic Movement that formed the Kenya National Dialogue and reconciliation team that was formed after the 2007 General election. She was among MPS representing ODM.

On Wednesday we focus on Emgwen and Tinderet

No comments:

Post a Comment